Press "Enter" to skip to content

Whatsapp to shutdown accounts rejecting new terms

WhatsApp has said that all users who do not accept its updated terms and conditions on or before the 15th May deadline will be unable to receive or send messages until they do so.

These accounts will be listed as “inactive”, and all inactive accounts can be deleted after 120 days, which is exactly 4 months, from the day of the inactive state.

Read More: Dangote refinery will strengthen Nigerian economy – National Assembly

Calls and notifications will still function for “a short while” but, probably for a few weeks.

WhatsApp had earlier announced a new update in January, with several conditions which did not seem favourable to the end-users.

There was a backlash and great uproar among many users who thought it meant the company was planning to change the amount of data it shared with its parent company, Facebook.

It later clarified this was not the case – the update is actually aimed at enabling payments to be made to businesses.

Read More: Bank Registers NIN For Free

Notifying users on the privacy terms of the company, WhatsApp already shares some information with Facebook, such as the user’s IP address and purchases made via the platform.

But this is not the case in Europe and the UK, where different privacy laws exist.

By this uproar and disagreement from the end-users, other platforms such as Telegram and Signal took advantage of the opportunity to project theirs to the end-users as alternative encrypted-messaging services which could offer more or probably better services to the users.

WhatsApp delayed the change-over but has now found new ways to notify users of the new intended changes.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *