Press "Enter" to skip to content

Okigwe Bye-Election: Who Finally Carries The Trophy Morrow?

…INEC Moves Collation Centre To Owerri

…Insists On Dec. 5 Deadline

…Court Still Reserves Judgment On Araraume, Ibezim

Yet to be answered questions over who finally wins the Okigwe bye-election slated for tomorrow December 5 appear to have taken the centre stage in Imo and Okigwe zone in particular.

This is even as INEC has shifted the final collation centre to Owerri the state capital as well as maintained its ground that the said election must take place Saturday 5 December at all odds.

Our reporter who has been monitoring movements of persons and vehicles in Okigwe zone revealed that since Thursday 4, December, stakeholders as well as supporters of different aspirants have been trooping in, while some lodge in Hotels in Owerri.

Others are in their Houses waiting for the tomorrow’s election. Following the sudden death of Senator Benjamin Uwajumogu, the Senator representing Imo North in the senate and subsequent declaration of his seat vacant by the Senate, INEC fixed December 5 for a bye election for his replacement.

The election which was initially fixed on November was postponed to December following the #ENDSAR#  protest has 13 candidates as contained in the INEC final list.

The names of the popular candidates in the said list, Ndubueze Patrick, With Accord Party, Emmanuel Ogueri, AA, Nathaniel Chukwudi Uba, AAC.

Others include CHigozie Kennedy Onyinye, AC, Senator Godwin Araraume, of APC, Charlse Onyirimba, APGA, Emma Okewulonu, PDP, Charlse Okechukwu Amajoyi, NRM amongst others.

However, while all awaits for tomorrow’s election which has been predicted  to be tough following the experience of the people during the  party’s primaries particularly the APC and that of the PDP primaries.

At the PDP primaries, the Accord Party candidate, Ndubueze Patrick dumped the PDP for Accord after describing the party’s primaries unfair.

In APC, the APC primaries electoral committee declared two persons winners of same primaries, those were Senator Ifeanyi Araraume and Frank Ibezim.

When the APC finally submitted the name of Ibezim as its candidate, Senator Araraume proceeded to court where court upon hearing the parties declared Araraume winner of the controversial APC primaries.

Same court further ordered INEC to immediately substitute Ibezim’s name with Araraume as the candidate of the APC, hence the emergence of the said Araraume who at the time of this report was still the party’s candidate.

However, the question on the  lips of Imo people is who amongst the aspirants would emerge victorious in tomorrows election.

While some people particularly the stakeholders stick on Araraume, counting on his experience and reach, others are of the opinion that other younger ones should be allowed since Araraume had been there twice.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *