Press "Enter" to skip to content

Imo North Bye-Election:

Confusion Mars  APC Primaries

… Ajibola Declares Ibezim Winner

… Nguma Declares Araraume

… Candidares May Head TO Court For Clarity

Much awaited and talked about APC primaries election may have finally come and gone but the crisis and confusion associated with the said election are yet to be unraveled.

According to our reporters that monitored the exercise, while the chairman of the APC primary election committee for Imo North, Umar Gana Nguma declared Araraume winner of the polls the chairman election panel senator Surajudeen Ajibola Bisuiru declared Frank Ibezim the winner.

With the foregoing, the implication is that the duo candidates may proceed to court for the court to ascertain and determine the two persons who by law that have the right to pronounce or announce a winner of such election.

According to the result announced by the chairman Election Panel, senator AjibolaBashiru, Ibezim polled 13,637 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mathew Omegara who polled 2,826 votes.

Other result as announced are IfeanyiAraraume ,2,708, AttanAchonu, 1,185,Mark Uchendu, 1,438, Chidinma Uwajumogu,1051,Eze Okoro,54,Bright Nwachukwu,67,Chikwem Onuoha 1,456 and Acho Ihim,824 votes.

Meanwhile, Senator Ifeanyi Araraume has been declared the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primaries for the senatorial by-election for Imo North Senatorial District which held on Thursday 3rd of September, 2020.

He was declared the winner by the chairman of the APC Primary Election Committee for Imo North, Umar Gana Nguma.

According to Nguma, Araraume scored the highest votes of 22,944 votes while Chidinma Uwajumogu came a distant second with 3757 votes.

Nguma also announced votes scored by other aspirants to include, Mark Uchendu, 1877; Frank Ibezim, 1216 and Athan Achonu, 934 votes.

Others are Matthew Omegara, 698; Acho Ihim, 212; Bright Nwachukwu, 126; Eze Okoro, 53 and Uchenna Uchewuba, 51 votes.

He disclosed that the number of registered voters were 37, 228 while the number of total votes cast was 32,464.

Nguma said the result was a collation of the direct election held in all the wards within the six council areas in the senatorial district.

He commended the members of the party in senatorial district for conducting themselves in a most peaceful manner during the exercise.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *