Press "Enter" to skip to content

Imo Assembly Elects Principal Officers

Imo State House of Assembly under the speakership of Rt. Hon. Chiji Collins has finally elected principal officers.

Since the change of leadership in Imo State last January when the apex court declared Senator Uzodinma as the winner of March 9th Governorship election in Imo which led to the majority of Imo Assembly members decamping from the ruling PDP to the APC, the leadership of the House changed. Since then, the House has not actually set as it used to.

Speaking with the media in his office shortly after the emergence of the Principal Officers to fill the vacant positions in the 9th House of the state Parliament, the Speaker Rt. Hon. Dr. Chiji Collins stated that it was a normalcy since there was a new governor who is from Orlu Zone, adding that Deputy governor coming from Owerri and Speaker from Okigwe Zone, it became imperative that the Deputy Speaker should change from Owerri to Orlu Zone.

The Speaker also hinted that the Majority leader which was hitherto in Orlu Zone shifted to Owerri Zone. He further noted that in the exercise the best candidates emerged as he called on the members to join hands to move Imo state forward.

Also speaking was the new Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Amara Chyna Iwuanyanwu who expressed joy over his victory at the floor of the House of  Assembly. He stated that his emergence would bring unity among his colleagues, pointing out that he would bring his legislative knowledge to bear that would compliment the “3-R” vision of the governor which anchored on Reconstruction, Rehabilitation and Recovery superstructure.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *