Press "Enter" to skip to content

Confusion Trails Nomination Of 24-Year-Old As Kwara Comissioner

Confusion continues to trail the nomination of 24-year-old Kaosara Adeyi as commissioner-designate by Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq on Tuesday.

Adeyi, the youngest nominee in the history of the state and from Ilorin West, was part of the eight names initially read during plenary by the Speaker, Engr Danladi Yakubu Salihu.

However, another statement from the Media Team of the Speaker Tuesday evening ”acknowledged the receipt of seven commissioner nominees” with the exclusion of the name of Adeyi.

But findings by Daily Trust revealed that there was a mix-up between the executive and the legislature in the channels of communication over the issue.

A top government source told Daily Trust that Adeyi was named a SSA and not a commissioner.

But no SSA was announced along with the commissioner nominees on Tuesday.

The reaction of the CPS to the Governor, Rafiu Ajakaye was still been awaited while filling this report.

But it was gathered that the executive was planning to release a statement over the matter later on Tuesday.

The Chairman House Committee on Information, Hon Awolola Opakunle while reacting to the development in a chat said, ”We should wait till their screening on Thursday to know whether her name was there or not”.

Also Read: Bundesliga: Bayern Leverkusen fire coach Bosz after slump

Adeyi was among the three women initially announced in the list which comprised of seven other nominees.

She graduated from Forestry and Wildlife Department, University of Ilorin in 2019, and had her National Youth Service in Oyo state.

She is a native of Ojuekun-Sarumi Ward in Ilorin West Local Government Area of Kwara State and had served in many capacities including as a Student Union Vice President in University of Ilorin and recently a member of the Kwara state Judicial Panel of Enquiry on #EndSars protest.

She is also the member representing Kwara state on the Northern Governors’ Forum Committee on Youth Engagement, Priorities and Inclusion in Government.

Her screening and that of the seven other nominees was earlier scheduled for Thursday before the new twist to the matter.

Their nomination was contained in a message from the Governor addressed to the Speaker, Engineer Yakubu Danladi-Salihu and read before his colleagues during Tuesday’s plenary.

The other nominees are Aliyu Kora-Sabi from Baruten, Raji Razaq, Ekiti, Fatima Ariola Lawal, Ilorin East and Saadah Maddibbo Kawu, Ilorin South.

Others are Aliyu Muhammad Saifudeen, Kaiama, Sulaiman Rotimi Iliasu, Moro and Wahab Femi Agbaje, Offa

Governor Abdulrazaq noted that selection of the Commissioner Nominees is in compliance with section 192 (1-5) and section 14 (1) of the constitution.

Speaker, Engineer Yakubu Danladi-Salihu therefore directed the Commissioner Nominees to submit 35 copies of their credentials to the office of the Clerk of the House, Halimah Jummai Kperogi before close of work Wednesday.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *