Connect with us


Ahumareze Age Grade celebrates Nwaiwu Over NUJ Legacy Award



The Nigeria Union of Journalists  (NUJ) Imo State Council has honored a gallant police officer in Imo CSP Linus Nwaiwu with an award.

Nwaiwu who award was presented during the NUJ Legacy Awards held at the Rockview Hotel Owerri Imo State lob Wednesday 18th November 2020.

Receiving the Award plaque on behalf of CSP Nwaiwu,  Barr Kenneth Opara who led other members of Ahumareze Age Grade of Owerri Nche-Ise, said that Nwaiwu is a gifted child, adding that the age-grade members appreciate what he does as a policeman and a human being.

Barr Opara said the NUJ has publicized and proven that what the age-grade members saw in Nwaiwu a long time ago, is right.

He eulogized Nwaiwu who is also head of the Anti-kidnapping unit of Imo Police Command, saying that he deserves to be acknowledged so that he can do better work for society.

On his activities to curb kidnapping in Imo, the Leader of Ahumareze Age Grade said that the proficiency of CSP Nwaiwu can be seen in how calm the state is in terms of kidnap activities.

“The way he approaches issues as a policeman. We believe in him that he will not disappoint us”, stressing that it is why they came to accept the Award on his behalf as an age grade.

Barr Opara stated that it is why they allowed him to be part of them as an Owerri man though he comes from Mbaise.

Meanwhile, Governor Hope Uzodinma has congratulated lmo journalists for the 2020 Legacy Award organized by the Chris Akaraonye led leadership.

Imo State Commissioner of Information, Chief Declan Emelumba, who represented the Governor expressed high regards for journalists in the State. He said that for his short time in office, the governor has made much impact in improving media operations in lmo especially state-owned media houses- lmo Newspapers and IBC.

He announced the governor’s resolve to embark on an annual award program for journalists who exhibit diligence in the journalism profession and called on all media practitioners to support the government to succeed.

Earlier in his speech, Imo NUJ Chairman, Chris Akaraonye thanked guests for honoring their invitation. He described the award ceremony as a huge success made possible by God.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Farmers/Herders clash: “pass anti-grazing bill”, SDP advises state government.



The Social Democratic Party (SDP) has advised State governments to pass the Anti-Grazing Bill into Law to tackle the constant farmers/herders conflicts across Nigeria.

The Party’s National Publicity Secretary, Mr Alfa Mohammed, gave the advice in a statement in Abuja on Tuesday.

Also he urged the state governors to set up Ministries of Internal Security and Conflict Resolution to deal with the activities of aliens in states.

In his words, “It is high time the [governors] start taking bold steps toward securing the lives of their citizens who are being kidnapped, raped, maimed or killed on a daily basis by marauding Fulani herdsmen who are mostly foreigners.

“The governors must remind themselves that the 1999 Constitution makes security and welfare of the people the primary purpose of their governments and confers upon them Chief security officers of their various states.

“This makes them accountable for security lapses suffered by their subjects in their various states.”

Also Read:Fulani Herdsmen Ultimatum: Sunday Ighoho responds to his arrest order by Presidency

Mohammed also added, “The Governors’ Forum should set up an investigative panel to investigate, among other things those who are responsible for the unrestrained influx of foreign bandits and herdsmen into Nigeria in the last 6 years.

“So that any ethnic leader who’s found to be aiding criminality among his people can be replaced and prosecuted.”

Mohammed also lauded state governments who have taken bold steps to establish their local security outfits and pass the Anti-Open Grazing Bill.

Recall that some states, for instance Oyo and Benue, have passed the Bill into law already.

Continue Reading


CBN lending rate still at 11.5%



The Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele has disclosed that CBN will retain her Monetary Policy Rate at 11.5 per cent.

This was disclosed in Abuja, after a two-day meeting held by the Monetary Policy Committee on Tuesday.

It also retained the Cash Reserve Ratio – CRR and Liquidity Ratio – LR at 27.5 percent and 30 percent respectively.

These rates are the rates the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) maintained at its last meeting in November, 2020

Read Also:

Nigeria’s Longest Rigid Pavement and The First of its Kind, Located in Kogi State Has Been Completed by The Dangote Group

Police Brutality Returns To Imo As Passer By Loses Life TO Officers At Njaba

Okigwe Bye-Election: Who Finally Carries The Trophy Morrow?

Okigwe Senate: Chikwem Onuoha Again assures Effective Representation, Consults With IMC, Councilors


Continue Reading

Breaking News

Buhari appoints new Service Chief – Femi Adesina



Following the clamour to replace the Service chiefs that had been appointed by the president since 2015, The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.) has responded by accepting the resignation of the service chiefs.

Read Also: Buhari Approves Acting DG for NDE Against Senate’s Position

This was disclosed in a statement titled, ‘President Buhari appoints new service chiefs, read by the Special adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina.

It read, “President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service“.

Those involved are:

  1. Chief of Defence  –  Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin
  2. Chief of Army Staff – Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai
  3. Chief of Naval Staff – Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas
  4. Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

Read Also:  Stop Buhari from selling national assets, National Assembly urged

The new Service chiefs are:

  1. Major-General Leo Irabor –  Chief of Defence Staff
  2. Major-General I. Attahiru – Chief of Army Staff
  3. Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo – Chief of Naval Staff
  4. Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao –  Chief of Air Staff.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their ‘overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,’ wishing them well in their future endeavours

“The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.”

Continue Reading